New Committee 2012-2013

It is a pleasure to announce the new Conservative Society committee for the academic year 2012-2013. The AGM was held last Thursday March1st and all positions were filled.

The new committee is as follows:

  • President: Matthew Corner
  • Treasurer: Matthew Gibbard
  • Vice President: Ellie Setford
  • Secretary: Harry Ives
  • Social Secretary: Jeni Taylor
  • Campaigns Officer: Jack Aldridge
  • Outreach Officer: Harriet Gilchrist
  • Website & Publicity Officer: James Mitchell
  • Publications Editor: George Pender

Further business passed during the AGM and several amendments were proposed and voted on:

(a) Constitutional change/amendment proposed by Matthew Gibbard, with William Hall tabling an amendment just be that:

4.35 Promote the society and political education and knowledge through an online presence.

Both the motion and the amendment were passed.
(b) William Hall spoke for:
Motion to UCLU Conservative AGM (1/03/12) To Create A Working Group
Questions were asked by Tom Fletcher & George Pender. Motion was passed.

(c) Motion proposed for Life Membership to be given to Samuel Firth by Louisa Townson, seconded by Stefan Krick – Stefan Krick spoke in favour and Jack Aldridge spoke in opposition. Marta Krokosz then spoke in favour and William Hall against. Motion was passed.

In the interest of free speech, these comments are unmoderated. Please do, however, bear in mind the words of Lady Margaret Thatcher: "If they attack one personally, it means they have not a single political argument left."